NATAS Announces Children & Family Emmy Award Winners


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the very first Children’s & Family Emmy Awards, which took place this evening at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles, CA. 

“This weekend’s ceremonies herald an exciting milestone in our Emmy® award history. Launching in 2022, tonight’s ceremony marks the first standalone expansion of the Emmy Award competition since 1979,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. "In addition to tonight’s esteemed host, presenters and nominees, we are especially honored tonight to present our very first Children’s & Family Lifetime Achievement Award to Emmy®Award-winning actor, director and educator LeVar Burton for his countless contributions to children and the television industry."

Actor, comedian, and three-time Emmy nominee Jack McBrayer is best known to audiences as Kenneth the Page on “30 Rock” and for his appearances in more than 80 skits on “Late Night With Conan O’Brien.” McBrayer is also the star of the Apple TV+ series “Hello, Jack! The Kindness Show.”

Highlights of tonight’s presenters at the Children’s & Family Emmy ceremony include:

·      Laurence Fishburne presenting Lifetime Achievement honors to LeVar Burton

·      Sovereign Bill, the Indigenous actress, voices Molly on the PBS animated show “Molly of Denali.”

·      Tabitha Brown, social media sensation, NY Times bestselling author and star of Tab Time (YouTube Originals)

·      Grey DeLisle, an accomplished voice actress who voices Lola, Lana, Lily, Meryl, Cheryl, Scoots, Mopes & Mrs. Bernardo in The Loud House (Nickelodeon)

·      William Gao & Joe Locke two stars of Heartstopper(Netflix)

·      Eden Espinosa from Alice's Wonderland Bakery (Disney Junior). She is known for her performances as Elphaba from the Broadway and touring productions of the musical, “Wicked.”

·      A special performance by the Debbie Allen Dance Academy. With a focus on disenfranchised Black and Latino communities, the world class faculty and staff members of the Debbie Allen Dance Academy use dance, theater, and performance to enrich, inspire and transform the lives of their students.

The Children’s & Family awards are the first standalone expansion of the Emmy Award competition in 43 years receiving almost 3,000 entries and marks the successful culmination of the first full year of the realignment between NATAS and the Television Academy.  

Tonight’s presentation was produced by NATAS with Lisa Armstrong and Adam Sharp, Executive Producers, David Parks, Director and Executive Producer, Rachel Schwartz, Writer, and Brent Stanton and Rachel Schwartz, Children’s & Family Administration. 

The Children’s & Family Emmy ceremony was streamed live on NATAS’ dedicated viewing platform powered by Vimeo, available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at 

The complete list of winners is also available on the National Television Academy's website:

All voting was tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.

Related News


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *